Why I dislike BIS DX (WARNING: LOTS OF TEXT)

Jack Frost

Hee ho!
Disclaimer: This is just my opinion. I'm not insulting anyone who likes the game, nor am I attacking those who worked on it. I think the Alpha Dream employees did the best they could given the circumstances of this game's development. I'm not a game designer, and I'm not going to pretend like I know more than them. This is just how I feel, as a fan of the original game.

I love the original Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story. It's one of my all-time favorites. I consider it to be the best Mario RPG. I think the music is excellent, the combat is fast and fun, the story is engaging, the writing is hilarious, and I think it has one of the best villains in the entire Mario franchise. But when the remake was announced, I was... confused. In retrospect we now know it was Alpha Dream's last attempt to save themselves from bankruptcy, but at the time, it seemed like the most pointless game ever. You could already play BIS on the 3DS through backwards compatibility. And even if this remake was on Switch, I'd still argue that BIS didn't need a remake. Yes it has flaws, but the original game is still perfectly playable.

So I chose to pass on it. I watched it come out on the same day as New Super Mario Bros. U Deluxe (...why?) and saw it become one of the worst selling Mario games ever made. No one I knew bought it, and the stuff I read online about it didn't entice me. Last year though, I decided I wanted to give it an honest chance. I went in with an open mind and... I hated it so much that I dropped it after Plack Beach. Yeah, it was that bad. I could hardly stand playing a version of one of my favorite games for more than a few hours. Many months later I decided to just power through and finish the game. My opinion didn't change very much. I wanted to rant, so here I am logging into my old Mario Boards account to do so.

Before I list the negatives, here are some positives: