1. Posts are not necessarily deleted when accounts are, that's an option.
2. No, I believe the threads will disappear along with their posts(unless that's also optional).
When an account is deleted, and you select the 'delete all posts made by this member' option, all topics created by that member will be deleted too.
Not to bring up an unfortunate event, but probably the easiest way for most of us to remember this is when Uniju's original account was deleted. Because all of his posts were deleted, all of his topics had to be deleted as well.
But, yeah; it's impossible to just outright delete the first post of the topic. You have to delete the entire topic for that to even happen.