Votes: 3 33.3%
  • Bad

Votes: 1 11.1%
  • It depends on who uses it

Votes: 5 55.6%

• Total voters

Purple Yoshi

King Bowser
So, what do you guys think about DLC. Is it a good way to include features that would otherwise not fit in the game? Or is it a lame way to get extra money, and to purposely create incomplete games.

I think that DLC can be good, but they need to be careful with how they make it. My rule is, if I was a game designer, DON'T think about DLC during game production. Finish the game, and when it's done, say "Hey, I wonder if people would be interested if we included an epilogue, or a backstory chapter, ect"

Things DLC are good for: Adding reasonably priced extra content well after the game's initial release to those who want to get more out of a game that has already given them a good, satisfying playthrough.

Things DLC are bad for: Overpricing; being built straight into the game instead of being additional content, begging the question why it wasn't just a part of the game to begin with; taking advantage of a short game without much content by selling a fucktonne of useless DLC just to manipulate the consumer into trying desperately to get their worth out of an underweight game; being released within the very first day of the game's release for seemingly no reason other than to mooch off hype rather than because you genuinely wanted to give the consumers a little extra to do after they've finished the game.

The only DLC I'm really familiar with is DLC for the Rock Band games, which is definitely good, because without those extra 1,600+ songs released over the past 5 years, the games would get really stale with just the on-disc setlists throughout the games.

I can't really speak for other games, but I'd obviously assume that not all DLC for games is great.

Also, DLC encourages game companies to release their games incomplete so it'll be fixed through DLC.